Uber Wants to Track Users After The Ride Ends, Even if Their App is Closed

Thanks for subscribing!

Uber is getting uber creepy. The ridesharing company now wants to track riders’ data even after they end a ride, and even if they close the app.

The latest update to Uber’s app prompts users to accept a new policy, which includes tracking location data for “five minutes after a trip ends, including when the app is in the background.”

Uber says collecting this data will help it improve pick-ups, drop-offs, customer service, and safety.

uber

Thankfully, users can always disable Uber from tracking location data at all. The only downside is that a use must then manually enter a pickup location for their driver each ride.

Uber in China Just Became Total Disaster for Tourists

Thanks for subscribing!

Thanks for subscribing!